Navigation
Home Page

Class 1

If you need to contact Miss Story, please use this form.

Websites that may be useful: 

Phonics and Reading -

Oxford Owl: https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/

Phonics Bloom: https://www.phonicsbloom.com/

Phonics Play: https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/

 

English/ Maths/ Other

Twinkl: https://www.twinkl.co.uk/

Doodle Maths: https://www.doodlemaths.com/

Purple Mash: https://www.purplemash.com/sch/bowness-on-solway
Topmarks:
https://www.topmarks.co.uk/

Cbeebies: https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/shows/numberblocks

ICT Games: http://www.ictgames.com/

 

For handwriting/ practicing full name - you could use shaving foam, sand, rice etc. to make it more interesting and to allow the children to easily correct any mistakes.

 

Remember, you can always contact me with any questions 

Extra challenges

  • Can you draw your house? Can you label the parts of your house?
  • Can you draw the layout of one of the rooms in your house - see if you can get it as accurate as you can (Year 1)
  • Can you write your full name using different colours for each letter?
  • Choose a new book to read, stop reading in the middle of the story. Can you guess what will happen at the end?
  • Can you fill a cup with water? Can you fill two (different sized) cups with water? Do they hold the same amount of water? How do you know?
  • Look at some ice carefully. What can you see inside? Can you think of/ find a way to melt the ice?
  • How many different ways can you time one minute?
  • Can you build a tower of blocks as tall as you? How can you make it balance?
  • Choose 20 blocks to build a model. Can you use the same blocks to make a different model?
  • Can you fill a piece of paper with different coloured fingerprints?
  • Can you fill a grid with circles and crosses? What pattern(s) can you make?
  • Can you put an object somewhere in a room and using the correct language direct someone to the object as if they were a computer that you have to program. For example using words like whole turn, half turn and quarter turn. You could also just describe where the object was using words like: above, in front of, between, around, near, up and down, forwards and backwards etc. (Year 1 but EYFS could try as a challenge). 

Useful links

Phonics and Reading -

Cbeebies - Alphablocks: https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/shows/alphablocks?page=2

Oxford Owl: https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/

Teach Your Monster to Read: https://www.teachyourmonstertoread.com/

Phonics Bloom: https://www.phonicsbloom.com/

Phonics Play: https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/

Scholastic: https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/teaching-tools/articles/resources/scholastic-learn-at-home--free-resources-for-school-closures.html

 

English/ Maths/ Other

Twinkl: https://www.twinkl.co.uk/

Doodle Maths: https://www.doodlemaths.com/

Purple Mash: https://www.purplemash.com/sch/bowness-on-solway

Primary Stars: https://primarystarseducation.co.uk/

Classroom Secrets: https://classroomsecrets.co.uk/

Topmarks: https://www.topmarks.co.uk/

Cbeebies: https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/shows/numberblocks

ICT Games: http://www.ictgames.com/

Premier League Stars: https://plprimarystars.com/for-families

BBC Supermovers: https://www.bbc.co.uk/teach/supermovers

Orchard Toys: https://www.orchardtoys.com/dept/activity-sheets_d0129.htm

Nat Geo for Kids: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/geography/physical-geography/volcano-facts/

ABC YA: https://www.abcya.com/

Fun Brain: https://www.funbrain.com/games

BBC Bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/primary

The Imagination Tree: https://theimaginationtree.com/

Crickweb: http://www.crickweb.co.uk/

 

Keeping Active

Go Noodle (Youtube): https://www.youtube.com/user/GoNoodleGames

Cosmic Yoga: https://www.youtube.com/user/CosmicKidsYoga

 

Practical ideas

Top